The Treasury Cookalong: Vincent Price’s Mexican Creamed Corn

When I stumbled upon Jenny Hammerton’s blog, Silver Screen Suppers , I discovered that she had done a Vincent Price virtual cookalong in the past, so I was excited to see that she is doing it again this year. This time it’s in celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of what just might be the most beautiful cookbook ever- A Treasury of Great Recipes- which was created with love by Mary and Vincent. There are all kinds of events set to take place (in London…. nearly 5,000 miles from me!), so I figured since I can’t attend, I’d participate in the awesome Treasury Cookalong and honor this beautiful, weighty tome. Seriously…this book weighs a ton!

In all seriousness though, from reading the new preface written by Victoria, you can see how so many people have been touched by this cookbook. There are stories of families passing it down through generations, newlyweds receiving it as a gift, and the most touching in my opinion, a man who shared his love of this cookbook with his father. His father passed away and for a long time, he couldn’t open it without tearing up, thinking of his father. But he opened it and then he started cooking and recalling all those memories.

I guess I should get back on track. When Jenny posted the recipe for the Mexican Creamed Corn, it looked so good I knew I wanted to make it!

Vincent Price’s Mexican Creamed Corn (Elote Con Crema a la Mexicana)

What you’ll need:

corn

butter

onion

garlic

chilies poblanos

salt

Swiss or Muenster cheese

sour cream

Directions:

In a skillet melt: 4 tablespoons butter.

Add: 1 medium onion, chopped (4 tablespoons), and 1 clove garlic, minced. Sauté until onion is lightly browned.

Add: the kernels cut from 8 ears of fresh corn, 4 chilies poblanos, thinly sliced, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 3/4 cup diced Swiss or Muenster cheese.

Cover with a towel and cook over low heat, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes.

Presentation:

Serve the corn with a bowl of sour cream on the side. A generous spoonful on top of each portion is delicious.

FullSizeRender15-225x300

Unfortunately, I accidentally deleted the pictures of my creamed corn and ate it all so I can’t take more pictures, so I’m using a picture from Jenny’s post, hoping she won’t mind! Anyway, this is a really simple recipe. For some heat, I used pepper jack cheese instead and added a pinch of chili powder. Now that I’ve tried it, I can attest to the deliciousness of Mexican Creamed Corn. Please try this…it will not disappoint! Make sure to join in the fun of the Treasury Cookalong. Time is almost up. You have until the seventh of November to blog about what you make!

button1-237x300

Please visit these links for more info:

Vincent Price Treasury Cookalong with Silver Screen Suppers

Cooking With Vincent Website – for details of celebratory events in the USA

Vincent Price Legacy Tour – for details of celebratory events in the UK

Amazon Page – for the 50th Edition of A Treasury of Great Recipes

Treasury of Great Recipes Facebook Page

Silver Screen Suppers Facebook Page

2 thoughts on “The Treasury Cookalong: Vincent Price’s Mexican Creamed Corn

Leave a Reply

